patrickryanlewis

Angels and Demons

In Movie Reviews, Uncategorized on June 28, 2010 at 1:15 am

After the murder of Italian physicist Leonardo Vetra, Harvard symbologist Robert Langdon’s (Tom Hanks) investigation with Vetra’s daughter (Ayelet Zurer) leads to a secret society, the Illuminati, and a quest for the world’s most potent — and deadly — energy source. Ron Howard directed the crime thriller, which is based on The Da Vinci Code author Dan Brown’s novel and co-stars Ewan McGregor and Stellan Skarsgård.

The worst flaw a mystery movie can have is not giving the audience enough information to solve the mystery. Out of all the problems there are with this movie (and trust me, there are A LOT), this is the most annoying and irritating one.

I am a big fan of the novels, having read everything Dan Brown has ever put out. But I also am able to separate the two. I am not the type of person to base my opinion of a movie on how well it translates the book. I find that sometimes I am like a movie better than I do the book, and other times I like the book better. So my issue is not the adaption from book to movie (although, I will say if you are big fan of the books, I would highly suggest you skip this film all together, as it has very little resemblance to the actual book).

My complaint with this movie lies in the fact that even after watching it, you are left saying “what??”. I am completely honest and serious when I say there is actually a better storyline and plot in Transformers 2 than there is in this film.

The characters in Angels and Demons have zero connection to each other. You never really know why it is so important that the mysterious canister is found. You don’t know why the women scientist has any importance in relation to the mysteries surrounding the Vatican. And Tom Hanks’ character seems to be there more to tell the audience what is going on through long speeches than to actually provide any substance to the plot. The talents of McGregor and Hanks are completely wastes on a script that is so muddied, you are left guessing as the credits roll what was the motivation of any of the characters in the movie.

This is a bad movie, whose only redeeming quality is the stand out cinematography of the Vatican and surrounding Italian areas.

1.5 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

