patrickryanlewis

Up

In Movie Reviews, Uncategorized on June 28, 2010 at 1:12 am

After a lifetime of dreaming of traveling the world, 78-year-old homebody Carl (voiced by Ed Asner) flies away on an unbelievable adventure, with Russell, an 8-year-old Wilderness Explorer (Jordan Nagai), unexpectedly in tow. Together, the unlikely pair embarks on a thrilling odyssey full of jungle beasts and rough terrain. Other voices in the Golden Globe-winning film include the renowned Christopher Plummer and Pixar stalwart John Ratzenberger.

I have to say, it has been a long long time since I have laughed so hard so consistently like I did watching this film. From the very first seen, with young Carl in the movie theater, I was in stitches. The people at Pixar topped themselves by a mile, which I did not think that could do since e Incredibles is on my top 10 of the last decade list.

The five minute set up between Carl and Ellie, where not one word of dialog is spoken, is truly one of the best 5 minutes pieces from a movie I can remember seeing. There are some heavy issues brought up in that segment without a word being said.

Now, as adorable and funny as Doug (the talking dog) is, the movie stealer to me is Russell. The very first time he is on onscreen (where he keeps having to start his introduction over and over) I had to pause the movie because I was laughing so hard. By the time they get to the forest and he finds the bird, I had tears in my ears from laughter.

It is hard to say too much more about the movie without giving it away, but needless to say, I recommend this film to anyone. If you have kids, watch it with them. There are some pretty heavy themes that are laying beneath the surface of the film and it might be a good door to open a talk about life expectations.

If you don’t have kids, you will still love this film. It is free from politics (a rarity these does in movies) and any of the overly self servicing crap Hollywood likes to stuff in their movies today.

A very strong 4.5 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

