patrickryanlewis

2010 In Review: CDs

In Uncategorized on December 31, 2010 at 11:07 am

Just as was with my favorite songs of the year, this list reflects the full cds I have enjoyed throughout 2010. For a disc to really even be considered for my year end list, it has to consistent front to back, meaning I can sit down and listen to it without having to skip any songs.

10. Good Charlotte Cardiology The disc that was almost 2 years in the making was well worth the wait. Although it sometimes leans a little more to the pop side than I would like, still a solid output from the Waldorf MD natives.

9. Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers Mojo – There is no better joy than to listen to a master of their craft at work. This disc is a perfect example.

8. Newsboys Born Again – I was very leary of Michael Tait taking over the lead of this group. I don’t know why I was worried, after hearing this disc, I am sort of glad no dcTalk reunion is in the future (though I would still like to see it happen!)

7. Jealousy Curve Marionettes – A fitting going away present to all the loyals fand of this Philly group, who is the best live band I have ever seen onstage in my life.

6. Sister Hazel Heartland Highway – All their do it write and play great songs, over and over and over again.

5. Kenny Chesney Hemingway’s Whiskey – The best pure country disc of the year.

4. Slash (self titled) – Dear Mr. Axl Rose – this is how you make a good disc in under 10 years. Slash, forget the supergroups and just stick to making this kind of music.

3. Kid Rock Born Free – This disc can not be put into any genre, except one: good quality music. Am so glad Mr. Rock has finally abandonned his rapping altogether.

2. Taylor Swift Speak Now – First, let’s get one thing straight: this is not a country disc! It is pure pop through and through. But it is a strong pop disc, with so many well written and recorded songs it is hard to pick just one favorite from it.

and my CD of the year:

1. Coheed and Cambria Year of the Black Rainbow – When I first got this disc all the way back in March, I thought to myself “Finally, rock is back!”. I can honestly say there has not been one week since putting this on my Zune that I have not listened to the entire disc front to back. A true rock masterpiece.

Leave a Reply

