patrickryanlewis

They may not have talent, but at least they can make us cry

In Uncategorized on January 28, 2011 at 5:10 am

Call me irrational, but I remember a time when talent competitions were just that: about talent. Last night’s American Idol (a show which has become so far removed from anything talentlike it is not even funny), could perhaps be the pinnacle example of the non-talent talent show. It featured a hopeful whose fiance was brain damaged in a car accident. Wheeling the women into the room so all the judges can do their standard “oohh” thing, I could not help but think one thought: what the hell does this have to do with the guys ability to SING!! It turns out, apparently not much, because he was a mediocre singer at best, who would have had trouble making it through the second round had he not wheeled the fiance into the room.

But American Idol is not the one only show to use this tactic. I am a huge fan of Chopped over on the Food Network. But I will turn off any episode which has a “I survived cancer” or “I lived on the street” type of contestant. Because I DON’T CARE! That is not the reason I am tuning into the show.

If someone wants to start a I Have Had A Rough Life So Listen To My Story Network, go right ahead, but please, keep it out of talent comeptitions.

Leave a Reply

